DEFENSIVE DRIVING AND DOCTOR'S EXAM

UPGRADE YOUR DMV LICENSE

SUBMIT AN ONLINE TLC APPLICATION

DROP OFF TLC APPLICATION

HIT THE ROAD AND START DRIVING

 


FAQ

Q: What is a TLC License and why do I need one?
A: A TLC License is a license issued by the New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC). A TLC License is required to drive commercially in New York City.

Back to Top

Q: How much does everything cost?
A: Submitting a TLC license will cost about $550. This includes converting your Driver's License to Class E (approximately $20), a 3-year license ($252 paid upon applying), a city knowledge class ($250) and the TLC drug test and background check ($100).

Back to Top

Q: Where is the TLC?
A: The TLC is located on the 3rd floor of the Falchi Building, 31-00 47th Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101

Back to Top

Q: How many points can I have on my license and still get a TLC license?
A: Your application will be denied if you have 6 or more points in the last 15 months. Additionally, the TLC has introduced new rules regarding driving violations. Click here for the new rules.

Back to Top

Q: What is an "outstanding ticket or violation"?
A: Outstanding means that you have been found guilty of a violation, but you have not paid the fine or resolved the matter. Violations that are pending or that have not yet been decided are not "outstanding".

Back to Top

Q: What are all of the parts of the TLC Application and where can I find them online?
A: The TLC Application has two parts: Part A and Part B. You can submit Part A online, which we recommend. Part B you will need to print and bring with you to the TLC when you submit your application. Click here to submit Part A online. Click here for Part B, which you will need to print and bring with you to the TLC.

Back to Top

Q: What type of Driver's License do I need?
A: If you have a New York license, you need a valid and original Chauffeur’s License (Class E) or a Commercial Driver's License - a "CDL"(Class A, B, or C).

If you hold an out-of-state license, you do not need to upgrade it, but you do need to get a signed, sealed and certified driver's abstract from your state's DMV.

If you have a CT license, you need an F-endorsement from the CT DMV in addition to the certified abstract.

Back to Top

Q: What type of Driver's License do I have?
A: Unless you have previously changed your Driver's License class, you have a regular license.

Back to Top

Q: How do I get a Class E Driver's License?
Fill out the Class E form found at the DMV website, and then go to any New York DMV to submit the form. It should only take about 30 minutes at the DMV.

Back to Top

Q: Do I need a Certified Abstract of "State Driver Record"?
A: You only need the Abstract if your license is not from New York State. You can get the Abstract by going to your local DMV.

Back to Top

Q: What is a Certified Abstract of "State Driver Record"?
A: The Abstract is the history of your driving record, with any violations and accidents.

Back to Top

Q: Where is the DMV?
A: Here's a list of the DMVs around New York City.

Back to Top

Q: What should I do if my Social Security Card is laminated?
A: The TLC does not accept laminated Social Security Cards. So you should go to a Social Security Office and request that a new card be mailed to you. Here is a list of Social Security Offices around New York City.

Back to Top

Q: How can I reschedule my Defensive Driving class at the Uber office?
A: You should have received an email confirming the time and date of your class. That email has a link in it to cancel. Cancel your reservation through that link, and then reschedule at t.uber.com/tlc, or through the email that confirms your cancelation.

Back to Top

Q: How long is a Defensive Driving class valid for?
A: The Defensive Driving class is valid for 3 years.

Back to Top

Q: How much does a Defensive Driving class cost?
A: Most Defensive Driving classes cost around $40. If you take the class at the Uber office, however, it is free of charge to you.

Back to Top

Q: What is the Sex Trafficking Awareness video and how do I complete this requirement?
A: The TLC requires all new licensees to watch a video on the Sex Trafficking industry. Most Defensive Driving classes include this in their instruction, but you can also find the video here.

Back to Top

Q: Where do I find the Medical Exam Form?
A: You can find the Medical Exam form at the end of Part B of the TLC Application. You can get examined by a doctor for free at the Uber office - schedule an appointment here

Back to Top

Q: How long is the Medical Exam valid for?
A: The Medical Exam is valid for 90 days.

Back to Top

Q: Can I do the Medical Exam with any doctor or does it need to be a specific doctor?
A: You can do the Medical Exam with any licensed physician.

Back to Top